Tabu Toypro
via Gloria Brame



(Columbus, OH) -- NLA: International, a leading organization for activists in the pansexual leather community, has expanded its annual writing awards for excellence in SM/leather/fetish writing. Nominations are now being accepted for books, articles, novels, and short fiction first published between 1 January 2009 and 31 December 2009. The deadline for nominations is 28 February 2010, and winners will be announced at the National Leather Association's Annual General Meeting, which will be held during Tribal Fire 9 in Oklahoma City, OK (April 30--May 2, 2010). The five award categories are:

Non-Fiction Book (Geoff Mains Award)
Non-Fiction Article (Cynthia Slater Award)
Novel (Pauline Reage Award)
Short Fiction (John Preston Award)

Nominations for the Cynthia Slater Award (non-fiction article) may have appeared in print or online publications. Eligibility for all other awards (short fiction, novel, non-fiction book, and anthology) requires print publication. If you or someone you know has published a book, article, or story dealing with any aspect of SM, leather, fetish, or kink sexuality please consider nominating it for one of the above awards. Authors and publishers are encouraged to nominate themselves by submitting copies of their work. Nominated works should foster education and promote awareness and a positive image of the leather/SM/fetish community. They should entertain and educate, while building awareness and tolerance of the community and showcasing the talents of its members. There are no submission fees, but the judges will require either three print copies of the nominated work or a digital copy (PDF). Nominations may be sent to the committee chair, Steve Vakesh, at:

NLA-I has convened an award jury of seven readers, which includes some noted writers in the field and leading community activists. The judges are rotated regularly and their names withheld until after judging is complete to prevent lobbying by nominees. Last year they reviewed more than 150 submissions.

Now in their third year, the NLA-I's writing awards have received widespread appreciation and support. Jack Fritscher, who celebrated fifty years of writing last year by winning both the Geoff Mains and Cynthia Slater Awards, commended the awards as "an historical 'Leather First.'" Past winners also include Lee “Bridgett” Harrington, Anneke Jacob, Jeff Mann, Jack Rinella, and Alyson Tyler. NLA-I President Vince Andrews hopes that these awards will "continue to recognize, celebrate, and inspire the best in SM, leather, and fetish writing."
Shop safe at
Read our Sex Blog!
Quote 0 0
nice post....
Quote 0 0